Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World: Adam Grant, Sheryl Sandberg

Written By Frank M. Lin 1/15/2017 2:19 am @ Walnut Creek, California – I’ve been meaning to add this to my book recommendation list for about a week.  Man you guys should see my to-read booklist and to-blog to do list.  I have literally like hundreds of things I want to talk about and share lol.  It’s no wonder people call me bat shit crazy.  Lot of times I will simmer and sit on ideas and thoughts and try to see which ones have more umm, value?!  I’m not sure if that’s the right word to use.  Anyway, just posting my train of thoughts as usual.  My long time readers will be no doubt used to my style by now…  if you are new to my blog, let me give you a warm welcome.  Bookmark my site.  Actually, all you have to do is remember my nickname ghettoracer.  If you ever get bored just type in my nickname and just about everything related to ghettoracer is about me.  🙂

Okay, about this book.  This book weighs pretty heavy on my to do list.  I will try to borrow a copy from local library first I hope they have it. If not, it looks like a book worth owning anyways…  I am a big time non-conformist.  You can even call me an anarchist I would not be offended by that.  I don’t believe in the government.  I don’t believe in telling people what to do.  As long as the person is not harming another person or another animal in anyway, they can do whatever the hell they want with their life.  But I digress that’s whole other can of worms that I’m opening up.  Anyway, check out the book description and reviews of this it looks awesome to say the least.  So it comes highly recommended by me despite me having not read it…  I have extremely high aspirations.  I’ve mentioned it couple of times in past about eventually in the future I intend to run for Presidency of Taiwan.  Books like this will help me prepare for that.  Politics is a nasty game and I will need to sharpen and round up all the skills and connections…  but I want to change the world for the better.  I’ve been talking about Donald Trump a bit ever since 1 day before the election.  To me, Trump is an original for sure.  I have a lot to learn from Donald…  I will be watching and studying him closely.

Originals is one of the most important and captivating books I have ever read, full of surprising and powerful ideas. It will not only change the way you see the world; it might just change the way you live your life. And it could very well inspire you to change your world.” —Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook

Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World Hardcover – February 2, 2016

The #1 New York Times bestseller that examines how people can champion new ideas—and how leaders can fight groupthink, from the author of Give and Take

“Reading Originals made me feel like I was seated across from Adam Grant at a dinner party, as one of my favorite thinkers thrilled me with his insights and his wonderfully new take on the world.” —Malcolm Gladwell, author of Outliers and The Tipping Point

Originals is one of the most important and captivating books I have ever read, full of surprising and powerful ideas. It will not only change the way you see the world; it might just change the way you live your life. And it could very well inspire you to change your world.” —Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook and author of Lean In

With Give and Take, Adam Grant not only introduced a landmark new paradigm for success but also established himself as one of his generation’s most compelling and provocative thought leaders. In Originals he again addresses the challenge of improving the world, but now from the perspective of becoming original: choosing to champion novel ideas and values that go against the grain, battle conformity, and buck outdated traditions. How can we originate new ideas, policies, and practices without risking it all?

Using surprising studies and stories spanning business, politics, sports, and entertainment, Grant explores how to recognize a good idea, speak up without getting silenced, build a coalition of allies, choose the right time to act, and manage fear and doubt; how parents and teachers can nurture originality in children; and how leaders can build cultures that welcome dissent. Learn from an entrepreneur who pitches his start-ups by highlighting the reasons not to invest, a woman at Apple who challenged Steve Jobs from three levels below, an analyst who overturned the rule of secrecy at the CIA, a billionaire financial wizard who fires employees for failing to criticize him, and a TV executive who didn’t even work in comedy but saved Seinfeld from the cutting-room floor. The payoff is a set of groundbreaking insights about rejecting conformity and improving the status quo.

About GhettoRacer

racer, driver coach, taoist, yogi, dreamweaver, bballer, rebel, philosopher, entrepreneur, kiva, lonewolf, vagabond, photo/video shooter, storyteller
This entry was posted in Book Recommendations, Donald Trump - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, Good Guys List - my heros & inspirations, Life/Musings, Politics, Election, Politics/Societies/World stuff, PSA - public service announcements, Relevant News, The Good Bits of USA, The Truth, The Realist, Uncategorized/Unsorted, USA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

