movie reviews: Bruce Willis in The Kid (Disney, 2000), Nicholas Cage in The Family Man (2000)

This movie comes on from time to time in Taiwan…  and I must say I adore little flicks like this.  Bruce is so charming as the adult Russ.  And the Spencer Breslin who plays the kid Russ is perfect in his role as well.  And Emily Mortimer, what a sweet and smarty pants babe she is in this movie!  She’s the perfect combination of good nature, cute, elegant, and sexiness.  Lily Tomlin plays the loyal and witty secretary to Bruce.  She is also quite fitting in the role.  This is just a fun little goofy ball film that talks about living and enjoying life.

So many great scenes in this movie…

Rusty Duritz: So, I’m forty, I’m not married, I don’t fly jets, and I don’t have a dog? I grow up to be a loser.

Rusty Duritz: Holy smokes… 99 channels and there’s nothing on!

Russ Duritz: Stop biting your nails.
Amy: *Nail.* I only bite one. What’s it to you, anyway?
Russ Duritz: It matters because you work for me. When you bite your nails, you’re advertising nervousness and insecurity.
Amy: Really? Advertising all that with one little nail?
[pushes up her nose at him]
Amy: What’s this advertise?

Russ Duritz: Stop biting.
Amy: Leave me alone. I’m advertising terror and bewilderment.

Russ Duritz: There’s safety in sandwiches.

Russ Duritz: Aww, somebody call the waahmbulance!

It only gets a 5.9/10 on imdb but it gets a 10 from me.  =)  This movie kind of remind me of another film call The Family Man (6.6/10 on imdb) which stars another one of my favorite actor Nicolas Cage.  Interestingly it is also released in the same year, 2000.  Nicolas Cage was uber good in his role.  Both films have unreal elements in it…  but still it does not take away from the message of these movies at all.  The Ferrai 550 is so gorgeous Don Cheadle’s little role as the angel is kind of unique.  Jeremy Piven is excellent as the old pal.  I believe this is before his entourage days…  so it is pretty cool to see how solid he was already.  Ohh what the hell, he is listed in Black Hawk Down (but I think it was a super small role) and also Heat as Dr. Bob (hmm, if memory serves me right he treated Val Kelmer’s character after Val got shot at the bank shoot out?).  He’s also in a bunch of TV series but I guess I didn’t really notice him until Entourage.

I love watching Nicolas going to the “poor” life and learning to get good at the salesman job and also learning to appreciate life.  Tea Lioni is kinda damn hot too.  And Makenzie Vega who plays the young daughter has a cute voice it’s so charming.  When Nicolas completely forgets about Tea’s birthday he is really screwed.  But he makes a great comeback at the restaurant by being charming and delightful.  I like how this film portrays the good things you can have in life with money as well as you don’t need much money to be HAPPY!  And in life it’s the best if you can dabble in both.  🙂

Few quotes from my favorite scenes:

Annie: They did a pretty good job.
Jack: Who did?
Annie: The aliens, in the mothership. You look just like him.

Jack: Because you thought I was *cocky*, I’m now on a permanent *acid trip*?

Annie: Do you like kids?
Jack: On a case-by-case basis.
Annie: Do you know how to make chocolate milk?
Jack: I think I could figure it out.
Annie: Promise you won’t kidnap me and my brother and plant stuff in our brains?
Jack: Sure.
Annie: Welcome to earth.

Arnie: [quoting Jack] Don’t screw up the best thing in your life just because you’re a little unsure about who you are.

Arnie: A little flirtation is harmless but you’re dealing with fire here. The fidelity bank and trust is a tough creditor. You make a deposit somewhere else, they close your account – FOREVER.

Well, these are definitely two movies that I can watch over and over again because I love the story telling and the actors in them.  In fact whenever I channel surf and there’s nothing else good on TV, I watch over again!  So catch them if you haven’t yet.  They both come high recommended by me.

About GhettoRacer

racer, driver coach, taoist, yogi, dreamweaver, bballer, rebel, philosopher, entrepreneur, kiva, lonewolf, vagabond, photo/video shooter, storyteller
This entry was posted in Good Guys List - my heros & inspirations, Life/Musings, TV Shows/Movies & Youtube Video Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

